Investigating the Serial Case

The podcast, Serial, by Sarah Koenig revolves around whether a boy that has been locked behind bars for years is innocent or guilty for the murder of his ex-girlfriend Have (Koenig). I was very interested in this podcast not only because of the different way of presenting a murder investigation but also for the storyline itself.

Serial Podcast.

I have always been interested in the excitement of mysteries and problem solving that come along with crime TV shows and movies. This podcast constantly had me thinking and putting clues together that would help me try to guess if Adnan Syed was innocent or not, and if he was, who would be the potential murderer of Hae. Personally, I think Jay’s story has a few holes in it since Koenig mentioned that his story changed from telling to telling and the police have no real DNA evidence against Adnan, causing me to believe that Adnan may be innocent and Jay may be the actual murderer (Koenig). The podcast kept me very intrigued to find out all of the different pieces of the story and provided me with the opportunity to hear each of the different people talk about their knowledge of the case. This gave me a better understanding of each person and of what may have actually happened the day the crime was committed.

Pretty Little Liars. 

While I was listening to the podcast, my first thought that I related the storyline to was my favourite TV show Pretty Little Liars. The four girls being victimized in this show are constantly trying to find out who “A” is that  tortures them and somehow knows everything about them (Pretty Little Liars Wiki). “A” is always there even though they have no idea who it is (Pretty Little Liars Wiki). The show is constantly revealing murders of different characters and often the truth is hidden resulting in someone being framed for the murder they did not commit. As a watcher, I try to use the clues provided throughout the show to find out who actually committed the murder and why they did it. This is just like in the podcast as I am presented with all the clues and facts about Adnan, Jay’s story, people who knew Adnan and witnesses such as Asia who claims she was speaking with Adnan at the library at the time of Hae’s murder (Koenig).  There is potential that Adnan is innocent and has been sitting in jail for a crime he did not commit, so as a listener I am compelled to try to get to the bottom of it and discover who is lying before the podcast reveals the truth to me, just as I frequently do while watching Pretty Little Liars.

I have always watched movies or TV shows that give me a visual of what people and places look like, so listening to the podcast and having nothing to watch along with the audio was very interesting and different. The podcast did a fairly good job at providing descriptions of what people look like and gave recordings of the voices of certain people involved, but for the most part it challenged me to visualize what the murder scene looked like or what people such as Adnan or Jay looked like. I actually enjoyed the challenge. It was much better to listen and hear what people sound like so that I could try to put a face to every voice I heard, rather than reading the story that lacks that extra help to picture the story. The only fallback to the podcast is if I ever got distracted I would have to rewind the podcast or otherwise be completely lost with what was happening. A few seconds of distraction is a lot when trying to listen to the podcast.

As much as I enjoyed being introduced to a new way of listening to an investigation of a crime and putting clues together to try to solve it, I thought the purpose of the story itself was the very best part. Koenig was trying to dig up the truth about a murder that happened in 1999 (Koenig). Nearly 17 years later she was trying to solve a murder that could not only set an innocent boy free, but also give Hae’s family the closure of discovering the actual individual who took their daughter’s life. If I was Hae’s family I would be very happy that Koenig is taking the time to get to the bottom of my daughter’s case as well as keeping her memory alive by making this podcast that has since become so popular.

Memory loss. 

One other thing that stuck with me after hearing this podcast was how hard it actually is to remember things. At the beginning of the podcast, Koenig asks two boys to try to remember what they did or where they were a few weeks ago and after hearing them trying to answer her question with assumptions of what they were doing, I began to think about just how hard it is to think back to something (Koenig). I mean, at times I can barely remember what I had for supper the night before, let alone in Adnan’s case remember what I was doing on a specific day 6 weeks later when he was on trial for the murder of Hae (Koenig). This causes some concerns for me as I listened to the rest of the podcast because how does Asia remember their conversation so well from so long ago? Or how can Koenig get any real answers from anyone if no one can remember anything that happened? Even more so, how can the jury sentence a boy to jail for believing a shaky story and that he was lying simply because he could not remember what he was doing a month and a half ago on just another ordinary day for him? Makes me wonder if Koenig really can get to the bottom of this crime case or not.

Overall, I really enjoyed the podcast and turning into a detective myself. I felt as if I was almost investigating as well as I listened along to the facts about the murder. I cannot wait to listen to the rest of the episodes and hopefully I will hear Koenig develop a theory for who she believes the real killer is if she does not think Adnan did it. I believe that until an actual truth is discovered of who murdered Hae, she will never rest in peace. 

 

Works Cited

Koenig, Sarah. “Serial.” Serial. Serial Podcast, n.d. Web. 24 May 2017.

Pretty Little Liars Wiki. “Episode Guide.” Pretty Little Liars Wiki. N.p., n.d. Web. 24 May 2017.

Leave a Reply

